ABC Science Teams

ABC Programme have established a strong science team of renowned scientists, those including from India, China, Japan, America, Germany, Sweden, Korea and ex-offcio of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO). The members of the science team are experts on observations, modeling simulations, and policymaking, who are continuously providing guidance and technical support to observatory and capacity building, impact assessments, demonstration of mitigation solutions, and policy guidelines. They are providing science based information to policy makers to underpin the issues of ABCs at the national and international levels. 

International Science Team


Prof. V. Ramanathan
Distinguished Professor,
Center for Clouds, Chemistry and Climate (C4), ​Scripps Institution of Oceanography (SIO),
University of California, San Diego (UCSD),
9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0221, La Jolla, CA 92093-0221, USA


Prof. H. Rodhe
Director, International Meteorological Institute in Stockholm (IMI),
Department of Meteorology (MISU),
Stockholm University, 10691 Stockholm, Sweden


Chair, ABC-Asia Science Team
Prof. T. Nakajima
Director, Center  for Earth System Dynamics, Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute (AORI),  The University of Tokyo,
5-1-5, Kashiwanoha, Kashiwa-Shi, Chiba 277-8564, Japan

Asia Science Team


Prof. T. Nakajima
Director, Center  for Earth System Dynamics, Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute (AORI),  The University of Tokyo,
5-1-5, Kashiwanoha, Kashiwa-shi, Chiba 277-8564 Japan

Vice Chair

Prof. Soon-Chang Yoon
Professor, School of Earth and Environmental Science,
Seoul National University, 1 Gwanak-ro,
Gwanak-gu, Seoul 151-747, Korea


Vice Chair

Prof. A. Jayaraman
Director, National Atmospheric Research Laboratory, Gadanki, India

​Vice Chair

Prof. Yuanhang Zhang
Dean, College of Environmental Sciences and Engineering,
Peking University, Beijing 100871, China


Dr. Fan Meng
Chinese Research Academy of Environmental Sciences, Beijing, China

Prof. Guang-Yu Shi
Institute of Atmospheric Physics,
Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing 100029, China


Prof. Paul J. Crutzen
Emeritus Professor, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego, La Jolla, USA.
Max Planck Institute for Chemistry, Mainz, Germany


Dr. Mark Lawrence
Scientific Director,
Sustainable Interactions With the Atmosphere (Cluster-SIWA),
Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS), Potsdam, Germany


Prof. Kyung-Ryul Kim
School of Earth and Environmental Science
Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea,
1 Gwanak-ro, Gwanak-gu, Seoul 151-747, Korea

Prof. J. Srinivasan

Professor, Centre for Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences,
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore- 560012, India.


Dr. R.K. Pachauri,
Director General, The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI),
Darbari Seth Block, IHC Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi - 110 003, India

Dr. Sandro Fuzzi,

Ev-K2-CNR Committee, Bologna, Italy

Prof. Gregory R. Carmichael

Associate Dean, Graduate Studies and Research,
Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, College of Engineering,
The University of Iowa,
Iowa City, 52242, USA


Prof. James J. Schauer
Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering,
College of Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Madisson,
1415 Engineering Drive, Madison, WI 53706, USA


Dr. Liisa Jalkanen (Ex-officio, WMO)
Atmospheric Environment Research Division,
World Meteorological Organization, 7bis, avenue de la Paix,
Case postale No. 2300, CH-1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland 

Prof. Yutaka Kondo

Professor, Department of Earth and Planetary Science, Graduate School of Science,
The University of Tokyo, 7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113-0033 Japan

Prof. Örjan Gustafsson,

Professor, Department of Applied Environmental Science,
Stockholm University, Svante Arrhenius väg 8, SE-11418, Stockholm, Sweden